AVIxD Board Members Election — How to Run for the Board

The board of the Association for Voice Interaction Design (AVIxD) is preparing for the annual election of new board members. This email explains how to run for the board.

The board currently has 8 members with 4 seats up for re-election.

The current members whose terms are complete are Crispin Reedy (Versay), Amy Goodwin (West), Bruce Balentine (EIG), and Helen Vanscoy (PTP). The members who have a year left to serve are Mark Smolensky (AT&T), Deborah Rapinski (Digital DataVoice), Shelley Moore (Verizon), Kristie Goss (Convergys).

Any number of candidates may run. You can nominate yourself or someone else (we definitely encourage self-nomination — if nominating someone else, please first make sure they’ve agreed to serve if elected).

If you would like to run for the board in this election, please email contact@avixd.org by Friday Nov. 20. In that email, please include a brief statement about your candidacy, which we will publish to members in the election. Please limit statements to 500 words or less.

After the election, the board will determine its officers (President, Secretary, Treasurer, etc.). In terms of time commitment, the board meets by phone once every month, with additional meetings called as necessary (mostly around SpeechTek for preparation). Apart from this, the workload varies, depending on current AVIxD activities. Some weeks as little as 1 hour is required; at other times, 5 or more hours/week may be required.

Elections will be conducted on-line, starting Dec 1st, ending Dec 10th If you have any questions about the election or board member duties, feel free to contact us at contact@avixd.org.

Candidates must be current voting members of AVIxD. If you’re not a member and want to participate in the election, just join at avixd.org at the Professional level. If you have any questions about your membership status for the election, just contact us at contact@avixd.org.

Thank you very much, and we look forward to hearing from you!

AVIxD 2015 Election Committee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *